We have a Planning Committee, which meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month (if applications are received).

The Committee members are:

Cllr Paul Saward (Chairperson).

Cllr C Phillips

Cllr J Van Der Toorn

Cllr C Elliot

In most cases planning applications are the responsibility of the District Council, in our case Babergh. They inform us of any applications received by them from within the parish and they are obliged to have regard to any comments made by the Parish Council, provided they are made within a certain number of days of the notification. If the applicant is refused permission to develop, they have the right to appeal to the Secretary of State.

Babergh's website has a lot of information about Planning matters:

For Planning Committee Agendas and Minutes – see Within each Agenda paper are imbedded links to:

1/ Minutes of the previous meeting;

2/ A Report (by the responsible Case Officer) for each of the applications discussed at the meeting to which the agenda relates.

For details of the status of Planning Applications and prior review of papers for applications not yet ready to go to Committee (and therefore not available to view via the link above) see:

For general guidance on the Planning process in Babergh see

General Planning Information

If you are interested in extending your home then the site below contains lots of interesting information about development rights, fees, appeals etc:

Schedule of Meetings for Planning Committee for 2015: